comments 4

Refurb: Drinks Cart

I am very excited to share this project with you today, as I have been pottering away at it for months!

Almost as soon as I joined Pinterest I decided I wanted to make/decorate a drinks cart (Pinterest has a way of doing that). I kept an eye out on regular op-shop runs, and found this to use as the base:

After a decent amount of sanding, I painted the cart a similar blue to our couch colour – as it was destined for the lounge. I started with house paint, and ended-up switching to spray paint, because it gave a better finish.

Now for the piece de resistance – tiles. I decorated the bottom tier with subway tiles, to put a slightly industrial twist on what would have otherwise been a fairly vintage-looking cart. I pre-designed a pattern for the tile layout, which I also had a hand in cutting (under the watchful eye of an expert, mind).

Most of the accessories for the cart (cocktail shakers, ice buckets, glassware) had been accumulated before the project. All that remained was a piece to tie bottom and top tiers together – which I found in the form of a geometric-patterned placement.

Here is the finished product, which was promptly toasted!

 

Bish

 

4 Comments

Thoughts?